The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences released their 82nd Annual Oscar Nominations this morning. With all the other awards shows and announcements of best lists these days, it is sort of anticlimactic when they finally come out. Not a whole lot of surprises here. And I’m not sure the increase to 10 Best Picture nominees was such a great idea. Here are the nominees:

Best Picture

Avatar James Cameron and Jon Landau, Producers

The Blind Side Nominees to be determined

District 9 Peter Jackson and Carolynne Cunningham, Producers

An Education Finola Dwyer and Amanda Posey, Producers

The Hurt Locker Nominees to be determined

Inglourious Basterds Lawrence Bender, Producer

Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire Lee Daniels, Sarah Siegel-Magness and Gary Magness, Producers

A Serious Man Joel Coen and Ethan Coen, Producers

Up Jonas Rivera, Producer

Up in the Air Daniel Dubiecki, Ivan Reitman and Jason Reitman, Producers

Actor in a Leading Role

• Jeff Bridges in Crazy Heart

• George Clooney in Up in the Air

• Colin Firth in A Single Man

• Morgan Freeman in Invictus

• Jeremy Renner in The Hurt Locker

Actor in a Supporting Role

• Matt Damon in Invictus

• Woody Harrelson in The Messenger

• Christopher Plummer in The Last Station

• Stanley Tucci in The Lovely Bones

• Christoph Waltz in Inglourious Basterds

Actress in a Leading Role

• Sandra Bullock in The Blind Side

• Helen Mirren in The Last Station

• Carey Mulligan in An Education

• Gabourey Sidibe in Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire

• Meryl Streep in Julie & Julia

Actress in a Supporting Role

• Penélope Cruz in Nine

• Vera Farmiga in Up in the Air

• Maggie Gyllenhaal in Crazy Heart

• Anna Kendrick in Up in the Air

• Mo’Nique in Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire

Animated Feature Film

Coraline Henry Selick

Fantastic Mr. Fox Wes Anderson

The Princess and the Frog John Musker and Ron Clements

The Secret of Kells Tomm Moore

Up Pete Docter


Avatar James Cameron

The Hurt Locker Kathryn Bigelow

Inglourious Basterds Quentin Tarantino

Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire Lee Daniels

Up in the Air Jason Reitman

Writing (Adapted Screenplay)

District 9 Written by Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell

An Education Screenplay by Nick Hornby

In the Loop Screenplay by Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci, Tony Roche

Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire Screenplay by Geoffrey Fletcher

Up in the Air Screenplay by Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner

Writing (Original Screenplay)

The Hurt Locker Written by Mark Boal

Inglourious Basterds Written by Quentin Tarantino

The Messenger Written by Alessandro Camon & Oren Moverman

A Serious Man Written by Joel Coen & Ethan Coen

Up Screenplay by Bob Peterson, Pete Docter, Story by Pete Docter, Bob Peterson, Tom McCarthy

Art Direction

Avatar Art Direction: Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg; Set Decoration: Kim Sinclair

The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus Art Direction: Dave Warren and Anastasia Masaro; Set Decoration: Caroline Smith

Nine Art Direction: John Myhre; Set Decoration: Gordon Sim

Sherlock Holmes Art Direction: Sarah Greenwood; Set Decoration: Katie Spencer

The Young Victoria Art Direction: Patrice Vermette; Set Decoration: Maggie Gray


Avatar Mauro Fiore

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince Bruno Delbonnel

The Hurt Locker Barry Ackroyd

Inglourious Basterds Robert Richardson

The White Ribbon Christian Berger

Costume Design

Bright Star Janet Patterson

Coco before Chanel Catherine Leterrier

The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus Monique Prudhomme

Nine Colleen Atwood

The Young Victoria Sandy Powell

Documentary (Feature)

Burma VJ Anders Østergaard and Lise Lense-Møller

The Cove Nominees to be determined

Food, Inc. Robert Kenner and Elise Pearlstein

The Most Dangerous Man in America: Daniel Ellsberg and the Pentagon Papers Judith Ehrlich and Rick Goldsmith

Which Way Home Rebecca Cammisa

Documentary (Short Subject)

China’s Unnatural Disaster: The Tears of Sichuan Province Jon Alpert and Matthew O’Neill

The Last Campaign of Governor Booth Gardner Daniel Junge and Henry Ansbacher

The Last Truck: Closing of a GM Plant Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert

Music by Prudence Roger Ross Williams and Elinor Burkett

Rabbit à la Berlin Bartek Konopka and Anna Wydra

Film Editing

Avatar Stephen Rivkin, John Refoua and James Cameron

District 9 Julian Clarke

The Hurt Locker Bob Murawski and Chris Innis

Inglourious Basterds Sally Menke

• Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire Joe Klotz

Foreign Language Film

Ajami Israel

El Secreto de Sus Ojos Argentina

The Milk of Sorrow Peru

Un Prophète France

The White Ribbon Germany


Il Divo Aldo Signoretti and Vittorio Sodano

Star Trek Barney Burman, Mindy Hall and Joel Harlow

The Young Victoria Jon Henry Gordon and Jenny Shircore

Music (Original Score)

Avatar James Horner

Fantastic Mr. Fox Alexandre Desplat

The Hurt Locker Marco Beltrami and Buck Sanders

Sherlock Holmes Hans Zimmer

Up Michael Giacchino

Music (Original Song)

• Almost There from The Princess and the Frog Music and Lyric by Randy Newman

• Down in New Orleans from The Princess and the Frog Music and Lyric by Randy Newman

• Loin de Paname from Paris 36 Music by Reinhardt Wagner Lyric by Frank Thomas

• Take It All from Nine Music and Lyric by Maury Yeston

• The Weary Kind (Theme from Crazy Heart) from Crazy Heart Music and Lyric by Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett

Short Film (Animated)

French Roast Fabrice O. Joubert

Granny O’Grimm’s Sleeping Beauty Nicky Phelan and Darragh O’Connell

The Lady and the Reaper (La Dama y la Muerte) Javier Recio Gracia

Logorama Nicolas Schmerkin

A Matter of Loaf and Death Nick Park

Short Film (Live Action)

The Door Juanita Wilson and James Flynn

Instead of Abracadabra Patrik Eklund and Mathias Fjellström

Kavi Gregg Helvey

Miracle Fish Luke Doolan and Drew Bailey

The New Tenants Joachim Back and Tivi Magnusson

Sound Editing

Avatar Christopher Boyes and Gwendolyn Yates Whittle

The Hurt Locker Paul N.J. Ottosson

Inglourious Basterds Wylie Stateman

Star Trek Mark Stoeckinger and Alan Rankin

Up Michael Silvers and Tom Myers

Sound Mixing

Avatar Christopher Boyes, Gary Summers, Andy Nelson and Tony Johnson

The Hurt Locker Paul N.J. Ottosson and Ray Beckett

Inglourious Basterds Michael Minkler, Tony Lamberti and Mark Ulano

Star Trek Anna Behlmer, Andy Nelson and Peter J. Devlin

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen Greg P. Russell, Gary Summers and Geoffrey Patterson

Visual Effects

Avatar Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham and Andrew R. Jones

District 9 Dan Kaufman, Peter Muyzers, Robert Habros and Matt Aitken

Star Trek Roger Guyett, Russell Earl, Paul Kavanagh and Burt Dalton

Do you think this is really the best of the year? Who was left out? I think it is interesting that Avatar is up for Best Picture but has neither a writing or acting nomination. Fill out your ballot now and see how you did on Oscar night. The Oscars will be held March 7 at the Kodak Theater in Hollywood.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *